John Saward – August 02, 2017 at 08:38AM

From a group conversation:

JDS: I find that creativity, gaining a sense of belonging, and giving and receiving nurturing promote healing in me.

I find I can establish quite a bit of all that via social media like Facebook. Groups like this where our situation is understood, in particular help. The connections I make here on Facebook help me move away from isolation, especially when for whatever reason I just don’t want to leave the house. Writing here is a bit like a mindfulness practice. I can be present in it, and the past and the future fade away. And for a brief moment I belong.

I feel that our engagement in the cyber world is under-rated as a modality of healing. Amongst the many in the real world we need in parallel. It works for me.

How does the virtual world help you in processing and healing the trauma?


Imported from Facebook via IFTTT
Leave a Reply

